West Virginia Attorney General's Office

The Attorney General is elected to a four year term during the same election cycle as the President of the United States. The Office was created by Article VII, Section 1, of the West Virginia Constitution of 1863. The salary for the Attorney General is $75,000.00 per year.


The Attorney General gives his written opinions and advice upon questions of law to state officials, heads of state institutions, and the prosecuting attorneys; handles all litigation on behalf of the state government and any department or agency thereof; represents the state in all claims processed by the Court of Claims; prosecutes civil actions as authorized by law; enforces the state's consumer, antitrust, and preneed burial statutes; enforces the West Virginia Human Rights Act and the West Virginia Fair Housing Act; is a member of the Board of Public Works; Council of Finance and Administration; Public Land Corporation; West Virginia Housing Fund; West Virginia Sheriff's Bureau; Department of Public Safety Retirement Board; Bid Suspension Review Board; State Building Commission; Commission on Charitable Contributions; Women's Commission; Multistate Tax Compact Advisory Committee; Records Management and Preservation Advisory Committee.


Darrell V. McGraw, Jr. (D) was elected Attorney General in 1992 and re-elected in 1996, 2000, and 2004.


As Attorney General, McGraw administers an office consisting of 69 lawyers and 99 support staff, serving the needs of seven different divisions. Those divisions are: the Consumer Protection and Antitrust Division; the Civil Rights Division; the Appellate and Opinions Division; the Health and Human Resources Division; the Administration and Public Safety Divsion; the Tax, Revenue, Education, Arts and Transportation Division; and the Employment Programs Litigation Unit.


Contact Attorney General


Office of the Attorney General
Consumer Protection Division
P.O. Box 1789
Charleston, WV 25326

(304) 558-8986